--Adventures on the first day around town
Picture
Well on the official full day in Amsterdam, I did a little walking.  To the left here, on the Museumplein was one of many museums, but this here is the Rijksmuseum, full of art and such and probably the best in the world.  But Amsterdam really has every museum possible, a Sex, Vodka, and Purse museum, luckily I get a free-museum pass!!  It was a sunny day, about 75F, and the city is so flat!! After a wonderful lunch of smoked salmon, wasabimayo, and and a fresh squeezed orange juice with my CIEE advisor, we had gelato at IJscupye (Got Hazelnut.......awesome).  After this, my advisor went off and I got down to walking business.

Picture
I walked the 15 minute (if that) walk up Utrechtsestraat and into Rembrandtsplein.  It is a little park with a bunch of bars, restaurants, and one of the touristy parts of Grachtengordel Zoud.  It was really busy, but I did not feel like the only with a camera and map!  After that, I went west and saw the very edges of Vondelpark a behemoth of grassy relaxation, and then I was a street away from going into downtown, tourist laden, and super packed Amsterdam.....but I'll save that for another day.  So instead, I walked along de bloemenmarkt, a street covered in garden, cheese, and clothing stores.  One cheese place was a basement of some apartment building that had tons of samples of cheese, to say the least I tried them all, and the smoked and aged gouda was "wonderlijk."

Picture
(left is a bloemenmarkt stall).  So, I went southwest and around the "Gouden Bocht" or "Golden Bend" of absolutely huge houses.  Right on the water, right on the main stretch before tourist town.  Quite ideal if one has a few million dollars.  Whenever I sent up for a picture, the Dutch made it their job to get out of the way, duck, stop, hold up traffic, I couldn't spit out enough "Dank u wel"'s to aptly thank everyone.  My Dutch, in simple talk is passable, though they do seem to be able to smell foreigner on you.  The fact that at the restaurant the waitress talked to my advisor first in Dutch then, after I said "Hi" she immediately changed over to English was astonishing.  Oh US education system..... But all in all, a "redelijk goed dag" if I say so myself.  This coming week is CIEE Orientation week, so it'll be meetings, meetings, talking, briefings, a probable class conundrum, etc.  Once this is over though, it is another week of UvA orientations and then its off to class!!! 
(BELOW: The 3 main Grachten (canals) in Amsterdam, Herengracht, Keizergracht, & Prisengracht, below that is the Amstel [no not flowing beer, the river])

Renee Davis
8/21/2011 10:35:50 am

Awesome pcitures Aaron! I LOVE your website & " de blog".

Enjoy yourself, have a blast & keepo this going!

Davis Family :)

Reply
Aunt Jnut
8/21/2011 11:19:33 am

I guess all those times when I baby sat you paid off. Remember when we use to play Risk all the time. You always dominated Europe! While Lucas always wanted to play Monopoly. I love the details you gave. Especially about the food.
Love you and have a safe time. Oh can you buy me a pen from there? I will pay you back.

Xoxox Aaron,
Aunt Jnut

Reply
11/13/2011 09:26:41 pm

Hi guys,

I am about to visit amsterdam and I am kind of traveling in a low budget trip. I was wondering if any of you have a good website you can recommend me? Someone showed me this website but It is not that complete http://www.holidaystoamsterdam.org

Please let me know!

Reply
Aaron Misera
11/14/2011 02:44:42 am

Would definitely pick up a Lonely Planet Book, they to wonders. The official tourist city website is pretty good,

http://www.iamsterdam.com/en

Reply
6/23/2012 05:13:45 pm

I'm just browsing around your site for the first time, interesting read

Reply
9/17/2012 02:02:35 pm

Anyone know where I can find more information?

Reply



Leave a Reply.