Picture
I am now totally obsessed with pouring maple syrup over waffles and fried chicken. When one's mind goes over what is then created, the neurons just don't fire, they just cannot handle it. But my mouth and stomach sure can. In fact, I may make it my duty to try, at every DC diner, their chicken and waffles to make it known who has the best in my book. Thus far, the first victim (besides my marathon in about a month) is Lincoln's Waffle Shop in the heart of DC, right next to (go figure) the Ford Theatre. I could imagine any dignitary would want a divey place that delivers delicious and decadent plates of thin American waffles and oriental fried chicken right next to where they met their demise. I certainly would, especially when it is as good as these were. The waffle was very light, very airy, which is good, because this is no normal fried chicken. The very international cast that prepares it (I heard various English accents, Spanish, and loads of Mandarin) in a Chinese style batter that leaves those big, flaky bits of fried goodness. But then you just dump the chicken onto the waffles, cover it in syrup, and well, the rest is history.

Picture
And to make me look even unhealthier, I haven't had a good donut in a loooooong time. I've been craving them for a while now, and as I perused my 25 wonderful channels on TV, I found a "Foodies DC" program on during Sunday morning. Luckily, I found GBD. The opening segment was them serving fried chicken and donuts.....but found out that you can only get either or at the actual establishment, but I mean, one could possibly order both, say one is for a friend, take it out, and well, put them together......But I was there for the donuts, because my god do them bake 'em. Ginger raspberry fritter?! The fritter alone is my favorite fried pastry on this planet, now you slather it in one of my favorite rooty things and a fantastic berry?! Or how about a "brioche" donut, which is essential brioche bread dough fried. Or how about a square coffee cake donut with a cream cheese drizzle and bits of crumb on top? Well, I decided to get them all. You only live once (even though my marathon died with that previously described meal), so what the hell?

Surprisingly, the brioche one (on the left there) had just decided to pop out of the oven with a freshly dried glaze. It was the doughiest donut ever. It tasted like a sugary, fired brioche bun, just as advertised, and seeing that it is there general donut, I found it to be the best. The coffee cake and fritter were more of a traditional donut dough, quite airy and yeasty, but went very well with a big old cup of coffee. And yes, I sat right by the street, so I could not only people watch, but also let people judge me so that I would never eat three of those again (but because I had ran almost 40 miles the 2 days prior). Seeing that they routinely change the donut roster there, and that I never had a chance to try the chicken, well, I'd say that I may be back.
Picture
But I have done more than eating clearly unhealthy things, running it off, and trying to get back into the blogging mode. I did take a day trip to Alexandria. It's like the Revolutionary War meets Civil War. Everything is old looking, with some shock killing cobble stone roads, lots of old "Revolutionary Meeting Houses", a ton of cool restaurants and one of the eeriest buildings I have seen. That would be the Masonic Temple that is entirely dedicated to George Washington. From afar it looks like a giant caterpillar standing on its end. But up close it is just freaky. About 9 or so stories tall, brownish-gray brick, and not the warmest looking entrance. I was a bit anxious going in, hoping that I wasn't going to walk in on some cabal or sacrifices. Nope, just a big old statue to GeoWash and some guy named Ted who wanted money. Unfortunately I was a bit pressed for time and will save that one for another rainy day...maybe that day there will be a secret meeting....

Picture
As one walks down King St., you get surrounded, almost mentally inundated with stuff to drink, eat, sort through, and read. Loads of historical signs and neat old houses that just exhale history. The town is quite old, and really a buffer for any Confederate invasion. In light of that, they keep it that way, and if you removed the cars from the street, had the residents dress up and get a bit dirty, I'd say it could be 1861 with no problems. But luckily we have plumbing and health regulations, because the food options are rich and diverse. Many a "American fare" type spots with the clean, exposed steel or wood innards, and burgers and seafood galore. Of course there were cupcakeries, which I may/may not have partook in, I am not going to answer that for the sake of people starting to worry about my cholesterol levels. But a very neat town, one that is a nice retreat from the hustle and bustle of modern DC. And all on the metro line or a really nice running route. Plus it has a bar called the Bilbo Baggins Global Restaurant so naturally this place means business.




Leave a Reply.