Picture
This is a question that I won't soon be able to answer. Small, cake like beings topped with a gooey top layers and sometimes filled with a mystery flavor. Hmm, maybe the cupcake is the personification of a bureaucrat or lobbyist. Well, any how, all I can say is that with the plethora of cupcake trucks, cupcake-show oriented shops, and little holes in the wall (like Georgetown's Sprinkles) I can say that one of my least favorite pastries is quickly rising the ranks. Want a double chocolate cupcake? How about a cherry lime? Or does something with beer in it do? Little snacks for fancy suits, that's how this town rolls.

Picture
One would think in this town of busy bodies that there would be no salvageable area worth laying down at and concentrating. Well, luckily, the good city of DC has laid out a wonderful area on the Potomac with fully fountain, grassy areas, and enough space to have two dogs, five crazy kids, and many cigar smoking old guys to just relax for a few hours. Between the crazy running that I have been up to, seeing sites, dodging bikes, getting hissed at by geese, almost running over small children, I've really had some great time to explore and see the other, non-people packed side of DC. Let me tell you first hand, it is there, there is quiet, and you can semi-ignore tourists for about a whole 5 minutes. Not to mention, that is city is home to some of the best things between two slices of bread that I have ever encountered. And, coming from Pittsburgh, I believe that garners DC a level of legitimacy.

Picture
I give you, The Good Stuff Eatery. Phenomenal. Simply delicious. The burger had all sorts of weird asian dressings, sprouts, bamboo shoots, kim chi, but for the first time in my life, I feel in love with mayonnaise (obviously on this continent, as if you read prior Dutch posts I feel in love with Belegte Mayo). It was juicy, slightly burnt (a big win), and the bun was not that slimy thing that you frequently get at almost all other establishments. The mayo was simply to die for. Old Bay Mayo, chipotle mayo, and the one of the weirdest (and I thought impossible) combos, Pineapple Mayo. To say the least the pineapple mayo was slathered on everything; burger, fries, fingers, though not the shirt. But the star of the show were the fries, a greasy combo that was crunchy yet soft, with loads of rosemary, thyme and other spices that knocked my Congressionally heard head off its rocker. Unhealthy, you bet, but a few clogged arteries can get worked out over time. Just add, because it deserves it's due justice, a cold pastrami-avocado-mushroom monstrosity wrapped up in a kaiser roll from The Booeymonger in Gtown is the best way to cap a two hour run.

Germans. Deutsch. Spatzle. Futball. They are everywhere around here. And for my liking, it is a good thing too. With Germans come German food, and therefore, it makes me very happy. To add to my gastronomic week of adventure, a short Friday garnered a trip to the Biergarten Haus. Over spatzle, currywurst, und Kolsch, und ein bisschen ukraine-britain futball.  Me and my fellow studentinarbeiteren went and gobbled up some deutsche-grub. Big barrels, big hall, and all wood paneling, my type of place.
Thus far, all is well. The city empties out on weekends because the bureaucrats see enough of it, I am slowly starting to understand the "American Fietser", and I have quite a good group of people (and restaurants) to keep me busy. Off to another week of DC life, meaning high 90s and lots of spontaneous protests!



Leave a Reply.